Dances with Wolves film locaton – a must see!

As a kid and still to do this day, I love a good western movie; True Grit, Lonesome DoCowboyve, The Good the Bad and the Ugly, Dances with Wolves…all very good westerns.  But one of the things I enjoy most about watching a good western is the scenery; wide open vistas, rock formations and always plenty of horses.  It’s the simplicity of a good western, good guy gets the bad guy and the good guy always gets the girl, simple.  Well, most of the time.

A few years ago I got to go on the dream vacation of a lifetime, well one of my dream vacations, with my sister, children’s’ book author and travel writer.  We traveled to Rapid City South Dakota to see the West.  Actually the Northwest, but the film location for the movie Dances with Wolves.  Excellent!  We saw the Crazy Horse monument, Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, Custer State park, the Badlands (outstanding western movie backdrop) and the Minutemen Missile historic site.  But the one thing that struck me most were the outstanding views!

Yes, that’s me with Ronald Reagan and Crazy Horse is reflected in my sister’s sunglasses, the wide open expanse of the Badlands and Graffiti Alley.  Graffiti Alley is an interesting concept and a must see destination in Rapid City.  The graffiti artists are encouraged to tag only in the 4 block long alleyway with their art and this unique idea is publicized throughout the city!  What a great idea and well worth the investment in local talent.  Oh and that’s me looking down at a missile, how awesome is that!

Being a fan of western movies, the trip for me, was incredible!  I would definitely revisit the area.  If you’re a western movie fan or just a fan of the west, I highly recommend adding Rapid City South Dakota to your bucket list of travel destinations and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

