Bucket List items are different for everyone

Recently I experienced what Corporate America defines as “downsizing”.  To any of you that this has happened to, we know it as losing our jobs.  Yes, I could be bitter but instead I have decided to accept it as a gift, a time to stop and smell the roses so to speak.  So, in keeping with the new-found bucket list craze, I decided to take a slow tour down memory lane to relive my bucket list items.

I decided to take a look back at all of the wonderful things that I have experienced over the years.  My first recollection took me back to my teen years when I went to my first major league baseball game.  As a teen I loved playing sports, watching sports and thinking about sports.  So on a hot June day in the summer of 75 I went to my first ballgame.  The Cincinnati Reds were playing the Atlanta Braves, Don Gullett was on the mound and the Big Red Machine was on the field.  It was a magnificent day!

1975 Big Red Machine

The Reds won that day 9-2, but I don’t remember much about the game, but what I do remember was walking up the ramp to our seats seeing the field for the first time, it was fantastic!  I heard Joe and Marty, smelled the hot dogs steaming and could feel the tremendous electricity of the crowd.  And I thought, what a beautiful site it was to see in person the guys that were the Big Red Machine.  It was a great day, one I still remember and an experience I will never forget and realize now was the start of my Bucket List.

Bucket List item #1 – have seen my first major league baseball game and happily experienced the summer of the Big Red Machine!

Leave a Reply

